British Writing is Not All Grey

fiction uncovered logo

You’ll have seen this popping up around the blogosphere, originating from a call by Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize Director Sophie Rochester to celebrate contemporary British writing. People have been using it as a hashtag #britishwritingisnotallGrey on Twitter etc; Naomi blogged about it here and Susan here. So I’ve decided to join in and add my list of contemporary/living British writers I particularly enjoy and have blogged about into the mix – here they are, with links to my posts featuring them:

….. and these are only a selection of those I’ve blogged about!

6 thoughts on “British Writing is Not All Grey

  1. That’s a great initiative – I’m sick of the media focusing on sub-standard, populist works…..

  2. It’s so funny because I was looking to read more contemporary British authors and I stumbled on your list! Great list, this will keep me busy for a while.

  3. Of course, you’re right – lots of brilliant authors, and you didn’t mention Rose Tremain or Helen Dunmore or Anne Enright or Emma Donaghue or Patick Gale… Britain does not need to fear that good writing is out of fashion.

Comments are closed.