It’s World Book Night tonight …

world book night 2015

It’s World Book Night in the UK tonight – an evening when passionate booklovers all over the country thrust copies of books they love into stranger’s hands to promote our shared love of reading.

I applied to be a giver once again, having done it twice before. I gave out copies of The Spy Who Came In From the Cold by John Le Carré on the first WBN in 2010, and then Rivers of London by Ben Aaronovitch last year (links are to my reviews).

spring-tideThis year I will – eventually – be giving out copies of the marvellous Scandinavian crime novel Spring Tide by Cilla and Rolf Börjlind – which I recently reviewed here.

I say eventually because, for whatever reason, the email from the WBN people telling me the books were at my pick-up point didn’t happen. So I made the trip down to my local library after lunch today, only to find that Thursday is early closing. I’ll be giving them out as planned next week instead then …

If you’re a giver, I hope you’ve managed to get hold of your books and have a great time distributing them. I know that many bookshops will be hosting WBN parties and there’s a big do in London. If any of you are the recipient of one of the special WBN editions of the 20 books chosen, I hope you enjoy reading it.

Happy World Book Night!

7 thoughts on “It’s World Book Night tonight …

  1. Oh dear! The best laid plans, they say – and so frustrating when you want to do something nice like giving away books! I’m sure they’ll be appreciated when you get to hand them out!

  2. I gave mine out – personally I really wanted to read YOUR choice, but I figured Prime Suspect might be more accessible to more reluctant readers. I’m dying to read that one though! They were the only two that really interested me, though – at first glance. That would doubtless have changed, though, if I’d been left to browse amongst the books….

  3. Happy World Book NIght! I’ve given away books for the last three years, but somehow missed the cut-off to apply for 2015, so I will have to celebrate vicariously. Like, here!

  4. Pingback: Ronning and Stilton return | Annabel's House of Books

Comments are closed.