Women in Translation month

WITmonth3 + text1Women in Translation month (#WITMonth) is being hosted by Biblibio. She has set up an enviable optional schedule of different posts and themes for the whole month over on her blog – do go and visit. I do intend to read a couple of fitting novels this month if I can, but I will also enjoy seeing all the posts around the blogosphere.

However, I thought at the outset that I should do a quick totting up of all the women in translation I’ve read since starting this blog nearly six yrs ago (shamelessly copying the idea from David’s own such list). Don’t worry – or rather should I say, sadly – the list doesn’t go on for very long, (the links go back to my original reviews) …

Just 17 in nearly six years, and all European except for Yoko Ogawa. Something to remedy a little this month. I thought there would be more crime in my list, but I didnt’ include the husband and wife team of Maj Sjowall and Per Wahloo, or one Icelandic crime novel I didn’t finish. I was glad to be able to include one children’s novel (Funke) in the list – but it remains the only book I’ve read of hers.  Nationalities-wise, French authors just pip German to the post for quantity.

My plans are to read My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante, and its sequel if I have time, plus The Goddess Chronicle by Natsuo Kirino which has been sitting beside my bed for several months now.

Are you joining in at all?

10 thoughts on “Women in Translation month

  1. I’d love to join in – but whether I will depends on where the mood takes me! And I’ve probably read quite a reasonable amount of women in translation in my time!! :)

  2. I thnk you’ve done much better than me – I read very little in translation. I hesitate to say it because it seems wrong somehow, but I don’t really like reading in translation. So often the language feels strained in some subtle way. I guess I wish I were more competent in reading other languages!

    • I know what you mean – but there are good translations where the translator’s hand is barely visible and not so good ones where that strained language is more obvious. I’ve been lucky as pretty much all of the above are good. I am enjoying translated fiction more these days – even translated, there are subtle national differences between someone writing a German novel set in Germany and an English writer writing a similar novel for instance which I’m interested in.

  3. Your list saved me from the shame of what would have been a false confession. I didn’t think I had read any women in translation but I see now that I have read at least three, Funke, Nemirovsky and Vargas. Oh and I’ve read Colette as well. That’s four more than I thought I have. Like Litlove, I’m very wary of translations having met some horrors in my time, but I would have tried to take some in this month if it wasn’t for the imminent Summer School which is going to take over my reading from tomorrow and wipe out any possibility of reading anything that isn’t on the syllabus.

  4. Pingback: The first in an Italian trilogy… | Annabel's House of Books

Comments are closed.