Very Inspiring Blogger Award

It was lovely to log in this morning and to find out that the lovely Susan of the lovely blog A Life In Books has nominated me for a lovely Very Inspiring Bloggers Award. Thank you Susan, it’s much appreciated, coming from someone who has such a finger on the pulse of what’s good in the world of books. I must add that we’re delighted to have you on board as one of our reviewers over at Shiny New Books too and next time I come to Bath for a day out, I’d love to meet you in person…
very-inspiring-blog-award-logo-300x215

The award has the following rules:

  • Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated
  • Optional: display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you

Here are my 7 facts:
1. I was born in leafy Surrey in the much-maligned Purley, which is just south of Croydon proper, and my immediate family all still live there. I’m the one that got away!
2. I’m a single mum to a teenaged daughter with gorgeous Pre-Raphaelite tresses, (strawberry blonde or light auburn depending on the light).
3. I’m lucky enough to have two indie bookshops on my doorstep in Abingdon. Mostly Books and The Bookstore. I am spoilt for choice and try to support them both.
4. I’m going to have a break from compiling and hosting the Abingdon Mostly Bookbrains literary quiz next spring. After doing five, I’d like to have a go at actually competing. Fingers crossed that one of the MB Book Groups will take it on…
5. These days I work as a science technician/TA in a local prep school for boys – which is actually fun (apart from washing up test-tubes – yes I do have a dishwasher, but you can’t mix chemicals in the machine – they must be rinsed first). Although the pay doesn’t match up to a teacher’s salary, I do get to do pond-dipping, flame-testing for fireworks colours, all sorts of activities with the Junior Science Club, growing crystals… and hopefully help to enthuse some future scientists.
6. My musical claim to fame is having played (second) violin in an orchestra conducted by Simon Rattle, before he hit the big time. It was in 1979 or 1980 (bit hazy), and having led the Croydon Youth Orchestra for a while, now at uni, I was invited by CYO conductor Ian Butterworth to join the Salomon Orchestra – a London-based non-professional symphony orchestra, for a series of concerts at St John Smith Square amongst other venues. We played Mahler 5 (I think) as the main piece. I only did one season though.
7. My personality type tends to be ‘extrovert introvert’ – I’m rather shy until I get to know you. But I love extrovert colours – driving an metallic apple green car, wearing a lot of bright red.

That’s enough about me… here are ten other wonderful bloggers that I’d like to nominate to receive this award (15 is too many).

1. Tales from the Reading Room. As co-founder of Shiny New Books, I’d be remiss not to put Victoria at the top my list. Apart from that, her blog is inspirational in the sheer quality of her writing about books and her life, and she’s a lovely person too.
2. Stuck in a Book. Simon’s blog is one of the first I discovered when I dipped my toe into the blogosphere. We rarely read the same kind of books, but I really want to know about all the mid 20th century novels I don’t have time for – he is for me, the go-to expert at middlebrow fiction, (and another Shiny colleague and friend).
3. Kaggsy’s Bookish Ramblings. I always thought I was a fan of books-Russian (although you wouldn’t know it from my blog), but Karen is a real expert and writes so interestingly about many Russian and Eastern-European authors and poets, she makes Russian literature fascinating.
4. Thinking in Fragments. Alex reads a big variety of novels, crime in particular, but underlying it all is a love and understanding of Shakespeare and an academic passion for the art of storytelling. A theatre fan, she can often be found in Stratford.
5. Tolstoy Therapy. A relatively new to me blog that I plan to visit more frequently, Lucy has a unique angle on literature as bibliotherapy and is interested in the mood-enhancing powers of a good read.
6. Harriet Devine’s Blog. I have to include my other Shiny New Books Editor. Like Simon and Victoria, Harriet has been blogging for years, and I respect her opinions a lot. She’s a big crime fan and lives in France, so that’s already two ticks – but also manages to find wonderful pictures and artworks of women reading each week.
7. Reading The End. Jenny’s blog is such fun! She’s young and opinionated and has the most hilarious tags I’ve ever seen.
8. His Futile Preoccupations. Guy has two reading passions – translated classic European fiction and noir. I must admit I gloss over the first category, but I adore his noir reviews. He is also one of my most frequent commenters – Thank you Guy!
9. Lonesome Reader. Another new to me blog, Eric writes some great reviews on a wide range of books, and we’ve recruited him to Shiny!
10. Savidge Reads. I couldn’t leave out the other Simon. If Simon was a Mr Man, I’d call him Mr Project as he always has so many sidelines on the go – but his passion for books always comes through on his blog.

12 thoughts on “Very Inspiring Blogger Award

  1. Blimey, Annabel, you’re quick of the mark! Thank you for your kind words and for introducing me to yet more great bloggers with your list. I’m also intrigued by the ‘flame-testing for fireworks colours’. I’ve no idea what this entails but it sounds like fun. And please do come and visit. It would be lovely to meet up.

  2. Congratulations and I’d certainly agree with your list of other excellent writers of weblogs. Victoria writes one of my all time favourites and I am supremely jealous (look into my green cat’s eyes) of her skills.

  3. *blush* You are so sweet! I couldn’t ask to be in better company — you’ve listed some of my very most favorite other bloggers here. I am mightily jealous that you have two indie bookstores near you. There’s some development happening near my apartment in the next two years, and I have been saying little prayers that someone will get the bright idea to develop one of the shops into a bookstore. I would go mad with joy if that happened.

  4. Congrats an d thank you for the kind words! I shall have to get my thinking cap on!

  5. Thanks Annabel. Now this is weird, but my grandparents lived in Purley in between gigs (gardener and housekeeper for the stinking rich).

    • I was born in Purley hospital, but as a child lived in Coulsdon nearby, then moved up the hill out of Purley towards Croydon. The stinking rich (including Status Quo) were all on the other side of the Purley Way.

  6. Aw this is so lovely! You rightly hold the top book blog position, Annabel, it’s always such a treat to visit here and hear about what you are reading. And there are some mighty fine blogs on your list – so many I love. Big hugs!

  7. Your job sounds brilliant, all that science-stuff (that’s the technical term, right?) – and as someone who wouldn’t be a good teacher, at all, it sounds like you have a better role than the teacher.

    You picked very worthy nominations for the award, I look forward to visiting the ones I’m not familiar with.

Comments are closed.