A ‘Shiny’ review …

I was so busy doing other things behind the scenes etc with issue 2 of Shiny New Books this time, that I didn’t write as many reviews, plus a couple of the books I’d hoped to recommend there didn’t quite come up to scratch, so there won’t be as many linky posts from me this time!

However, I did read several really, really good novels and would like to direct you over to read my full reviews, and the first I shall highlight is:

Beatrice and Benedick by Marina Fiorato

Benedick

I think that Much Ado About Nothing is possibly my favourite Shakespeare comedy (especially the film version with Ken and Em), and Marina Fiorato is one of the few authors of mostly historical novels that I really look forward to reading. Her first novel The Glassblower of Murano was one of my first book reviews on this blog (here) followed by The Madonna of the Almonds the following year (see here).  I find her novels more fun than many other historical ones, and although they’re based upon impeccable research, they are not slaves to recorded history living happily alongside.

So to Beatrice and Benedick. It’s a brave author who takes on Shakespeare to write a prequel – to flesh out the sparring would-be lovers back story that it’s obvious they have, but old Shakey never told.

I loved it. It’s very dark in places, but also very funny, and if you liked Ken and Em in the film and imagine them in this novel, you’ll love it too. Perfect lighter summer reading. (9/10)

So get thee over to SNBks ==> full review here.

* * * * *
Source: Review copy – Thank you. To explore further on Amazon, please click below:
Beatrice and Benedick by Marina Fiorato, Hodder & Stoughton, May 2014, Hardback 448 pages.
The Glassblower of Murano by Marina Fiorato, paperback.

6 thoughts on “A ‘Shiny’ review …

  1. I did read the Madonna Of The Almonds but didn’t enjoy it really but I do like Much Ado so will look out for this. Ken and Em though not really my thing so might struggle to add the ‘imagine them in it’ tip!!!!!!

  2. Ken and Em not my thing either – which is why I can imagine they were perfectly cast as the irritating Guy and Harriet Pringle!!

  3. I read The Botticelli Secret on holiday a few years ago and I’ve always meant to read more of Marina Fiorato but never have. This might be the book, because I love the play – though I didn’t care for the film, or for Ken and Em either.

  4. Great fan of Em at least and Ken on a good day. However, not such a fan of people mucking about with Shakespeare so I’m not sure this is one for me.

Comments are closed.