My Independent Bookshop

Yesterday I opened Annabel’s House of Books at the home of a new initiative from Penguin Random House in association with Hive called My Independent Bookshop.

Hive logoYou all know Penguin, but you may not be familiar with Hive. It is a UK online book retailer that links to independent bookshops. Each indie bookshop registering with them gets a storefront for their recommendations and they get a percentage from any orders.

My Independent Bookshop takes it one step further… Anyone can open up their own shopfront and link to an independent bookshop who’ll get the benefits of any sales generated, and the owner will get rewards too.  Hive are able to offer decent discounts, so hope to compete a little with that other giant e-tailer…

The only downside I can see is that you can only have a dozen books on your shelves at any time – so sales may be slow – however, anything that generates a little extra income for indie bookshops is probably a good thing.

Below is what my shopfront looks like. I’m supporting Abingdon’s other indie bookshop The Bookstore through this initiative … do pop over and if you like what you see, why not buy a book.  I’ll be ‘changing stock’ frequently, so do come back.

Capture My Indie Bookshop

9 thoughts on “My Independent Bookshop

  1. This is such an interesting and inventive initiative. Well done Random Penguin as I like to call them! Hope you’re bookshop does well, Annabel. I’ll have to investigate this for myself.

  2. This is a really interesting initiative, especially as it helps independent bookshops. Good luck with your bookshop!

  3. I had an email from Random House but I haven’t had the chance to read all of the small print, so I didn’t know it was supporting Hive. I’ll be setting up shop over the weekend, and I’m thinking that maybe a regular change of stock with different themes is the way to go,

  4. What a wonderful idea – I only wish I had a local bookstore to support…. 😦

  5. I had this drop into my e-mailbox as well, but I haven’t had the chance to investigate it properly yet. Thanks for reminding me that i should do something about it.

Comments are closed.