The 5th Mostly Bookbrains Literary Quiznight!

MOSTLY BOOKBRAINS – FRIDAY FEB 28th

Abingdon’s Literary Quiznight for charity is back for a fifth time this February I’ve run it together with my favourite indie bookshop Mostly Books all this time.

Mostly BookbrainsDate: Friday Feb 28th
Venue: The Manor Preparatory School, Faringdon Road, Shippon, Abingdon, OX13 6LN
Time: 7.30 quiz start, doors open 7pm.

Tickets from: Mostly Books.  You can reserve by phone/email.

Cash bar and snacks, Bookswap table (bring and buy), ten rounds of questions including pictures, puzzles and possibly and audio round, interval competition, loads of bookish prizes, and for the winning team ownership of the Bookbrains Trophy for the year.

We always try to find a local charity to work with for the quiznight (they’ll run the bar), and are delighted that this year it is OASIS, Oxfordshire Autistic Society. All profits from the quiz will be donated to them.

A huge thank you to The Manor for letting us hire the hall for free, even though my daughter left the school nearly two years ago.

Thank you also to those of you who read this blog and helped out with some suggestions for new rounds last autumn when I had brainache even thinking about compiling another quiz.  Some of your ideas may feature…

So if you live near Abingdon (10 miles south of Oxford), and would like a fun book-based evening – do come, and help us raise money for this local charity.

7 thoughts on “The 5th Mostly Bookbrains Literary Quiznight!

  1. Sounds good – and for good cause. Hope goes well. I am in one way sorry I don’t live nearer to Abingdon to join in, but in another way I’m mightily relieved for I’d be rubbish at this!

    • Thanks Col. I’m sure you wouldn’t be rubbish. We try very hard to cover the entire world of books, from the sublime to the ridiculous, from Dickens to Dan Brown!

      • Well if that had been a question I’d possibly have got Dickens right as the sublime and definitely got Dan Brown right as the ridiculous!!

  2. Would that I lived close enough to attend. I like the idea of a quiz where I might for once be able to get some of the questions right. Mind you, I suppose I would feel every kind of fool if I didn’t! I hope you have a wonderful night and raise lots and lots of money.

Comments are closed.