New arrivals …

It’s so long since I did an ‘Incoming’ post. I don’t like to overdo them, but have recently acquired some great books I wanted to share with you…
001

    • The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway. Billed as ‘a story of love and time travel’ I couldn’t resist accepting a review copy of this book published next week.
    • Shakespeare’s Restless World: An Unexpected History in Twenty Objects by Neil McGregor. Drawing you into Shakespeare’s world, McGregor analyses how these objects influenced his life and times. Based on the Radio 4 series which I enjoyed so had to buy. A beautifully produced book.
    • Constance by Patrick McGrath. Another beautifully produced book that I couldn’t resist buying. I’m loving these new designs from Bloomsbury Circus – squarer than standard paperbacks, and with French flaps. It’ll be my first McGrath read, and I’m looking forward to it.
    • Beautiful Fools by R Clifton Spargo. Given that I adored Baz Luhrmann’s Great Gatsby last week, browsing in my favourite bookshop yesterday, this book shouted out to me. It’s a novel based on the lives of Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald.

002

  • The Cleaner of Chartresby Salley Vickers. New out in paperback – Yippee!
  • Emilie and the Hollow Worldby Martha Wells. This YA book also shouted from the shelves to me – a bit steampunk, a bit like Verne’s Journey to the Centre of the Earth or Edgar Rice Burrough’s Pellucidar books – this novel from the new Strange Chemistry imprint from Angry Robot books sounds great fun.
  • A Heart so Whiteby Javier Marias, trans Margaret Jull Costa. This was a charity shop find – I love Penguin Modern Classics and having spotted this one in great condition bought it without even looking at the blurb.

Have you read any of these?
Have you got any good new books recently?

11 thoughts on “New arrivals …

  1. I really enjoyed The Cleaner of Chartres… I haven’t read any of the others but they all look really good. I’m jealous!

    • Having now looked at the book(!) it’ll be a gripping read for sure. He’s not big on using paragraphs though – looks quite dense …

  2. I’ve just finished The River of No Return and enjoyed it. I thought it was a fascinating, unusual story and fun to read! I haven’t read any of your other new books but they all sound great.

Comments are closed.