The 2013 Granta list of Young British Novelists.

So tonight, a decade after the last one, Granta announced their fourth list of the best Young British Novelists (under 40)…

Granta list 2013 (Photo Granta)It looks to be a list of great diversity, and there are more women than men for the first time.  The twenty are:

  • Naomi Alderman
  • Tahmima Anam 
  • Ned Beauman  (in my TBR)
  • Jenni Fagan 
  • Adam Foulds (in my TBR)
  • Xiaolu Guo (in my TBR, plus I’ve read 20 fragment of a ravenous youth)
  • Sarah Hall (in my TBR, plus I’ve read How to Paint a Dead Man)
  • Steven Hall
  • Joanna Kavenna (in my TBR)
  • Benjamin Markovits (in my TBR)
  • Nadifa Mohamed
  • Helen Oyeyemi (I’ve read White is for Witching)
  • Ross Raisin (I’ve read God’s Own Country)
  • Sunjeev Sahota
  • Taiye Selasi 
  • Kamila Shamsie (in my TBR)
  • Zadie Smith – was also in the 2003 list, but is not in the photo above, (in my TBR, plus I’ve read N-W)
  • David Szalay 
  • Adam Thirlwell – was also in the 2003 list.
  • Evie Wyld  (in my TBR)

I’ve read precisely one book each by five of these authors, and have a further six already in my TBR, leaving me with nine I have not read – I shall be looking them up to see which appeal as most are completely new to me.

I am pleased for Ross Raisin, whose debut I really enjoyed, and I’ve heard such good things about Evie Wyld so look forward to reading her debut.  Adam Foulds is a novelist that came to my attention when he was Booker listed for the Quickening Maze a couple of years ago, that book is in my TBR.

Otherwise I have no strong feelings about this list, those included, those missed off, those just a little too old, but many selected before (including Iain Banks in 1993), have gone on to great things…

What do you think?

 

3 thoughts on “The 2013 Granta list of Young British Novelists.

  1. I have a friend who has been lecturing around the world on the merits of Helen Oyeyemi. She is going to be so pleased about her presence on the list and what’s more it might mean she will have more people in the audience who have read and appreciated her works.

  2. Helen Oyeyemi and Zadie Smith are the only authors on this list that I’ve heard of, and Smith is the only one I’ve read. (I wasn’t a fan of On Beauty, but it just wasn’t the type of book I enjoy.) I’ll have to look out for the other authors listed!

Comments are closed.