Incoming!

I haven’t told you about my latest book acquisitions for simply ages.  I went to a book sale today at a local church hall, and came away with a bagful, so I thought it was an ideal time to share what’s new on the bookshelves at Gaskell Towers …

Pile, the first – my haul from the booksale…

Pile, the second – mostly bought plus a couple of review copies…
  • A Rich Full Death by Michael Dibdin – not an Aurelio Zen novel, this one is set in 19th C Florence and features poet Robert Browning.
  • Crippen by John Boyne, a fictional account of the notorious murderer, my next book to review for the Transworld book club.
  • Brideshead Abbreviated: The Digested Read of the Twentieth Century by John Crace – a collection of his wonderfully funny ‘Digested Read’ columns from the Guardian.
  • Greybeard (S.F. Masterworks) by Brian Aldiss – he was at the Kennington (nr Oxford) Literary Festival last week. I couldn’t go, but got a signed book from the bookshop later.
  • The Last Werewolf by Glen Duncan. Heard a lot about this one, and it sounds my kind of book!
  • Midwinterblood by Marcus Sedgwick – a new book from him is always a treat to look forward to. A love story across the centuries, for teens and upwards.
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs. This novel which combines text with vintage photographs could be a gimmick, but it was intriguing enough to pick up…
  • Death Comes to Pemberleyby P D James. It’s rare that I pluck up courage to ask a publisher for a review copy of a book, but the minute I heard about the Baroness’s latest, I couldn’t resist. Set after P&P, Lizzie and D’Arcy are married and when a distraught Lydia arrives at the ball saying that Wickham has been murdered, they have to solve the crime. Thanks to Faber. This will be the next book I read!

Have you read any of the above?
What have you added to your TBR piles lately?
Do tell…

7 thoughts on “Incoming!

    • Mystica, It’s out in November – a crime sequel to Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice – utterly irrestistible. 🙂

  1. What a lovely stock of books – I will be acquiring the Marcus Sedgwick as soon as I can, possibly using the excuse of my daughter’s birthday to splash out on a hardback!
    I read both the Delderfield and the Jane Gardam years and years ago but remember loving them both – the Delderfield in particular is a wonderful book to get lost in and I remember reading the trilogy as fast as possible and then feeling bereft! I still have them all somewhere – maybe I will re-read one day although with the size of my tbr mountain range I’m not sure how long it will be before I get around to it!
    I haven’t read Marjorie Morningstar but I have read Herman Wouk’s Winds of War and War and Remembrance and can thoroughly recommend them both – he is another writer who really draws you in to a story so you find it hard to put the book down. They are absolutely huge though – my copy of War and Remembrance was in hardback and I nearly sprained my wrist reading it!

Comments are closed.