The Literary Blog-Hop – and Giveaway

”GiveThis weekend, it’s the second Literary Blog-Hop run by Judith at Leeswaammes.   The aims are to help people discover more great blogs, and spread a lot of book-love by running giveaways.  The list of participating blogs, of which there are 73, is below. There are loads I’ve never seen before, plus a few familiar friends – so if you have time do visit some new blogs and join in their giveaways too…

But before you do that – here’s my giveaway…

I found three books in my piles of which I had two copies – all new too!  How could I have managed to acquire the same book twice three times?  The books are all as new, and the titles on offer are:

  • Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor – Set in Dublin in 1907, it’s a novel of theatre life featuring the Irish playwright John Synge. I’ve read good things about this book, but have yet to read it myself.
  • Adverbs by Daniel Handler – who is the author of the Lemony Snicket books. This novel for grown-ups is similarly quirky, actually very quirky, but I liked it a lot. See my review here.
  • Crome Yellow by Aldous Huxley. This was his first novel, published in 1921. Set at a house-party in the country – a classic.  This edition has a introduction by Malcolm Bradbury.
Just leave a comment saying which book you would like to be in the draw for.  I will send worldwide (surface outside Europe).  Oh, and if you want to own up to any books you’ve managed to buy twice without realising, do let me know I’m not alone.  The giveaway closes at the end of June 29th.



List of all the Participants:

  1. Leeswammes (Int)
  2. The Book Whisperer (Int)
  3. Kristi Loves Books (Int)
  4. Teadevotee (Int)
  5. Bookworm with a View (Int)
  6. Bibliosue (Int)
  7. Sarah Reads Too Much (Int)
  8. write meg! (USA)
  9. My Love Affair With Books (Int)
  10. Seaside Book Nook (Int)
  11. Uniflame Creates (Int)
  12. Always Cooking Up Something (Int)
  13. Book Journey (Int)
  14. ThirtyCreativeStudio (Int)
  15. Col Reads (Int)
  16. The Book Diva’s Reads (Int)
  17. The Scarlet Letter (USA)
  18. The Parrish Lantern (Int)
  19. Lizzy’s Literary Life (Int)
  20. Read, Write & Live (Int)
  21. Book’d Out (Int)
  22. The Readers’ Suite (Int)
  23. I Am A Reader, Not A Writer (USA)
  24. Ephemeral Digest (Int)
  25. Miel et lait (Int)
  26. Bibliophile By the Sea (Int)
  27. Polychrome Interest (Int)
  28. Book World In My Head (Int)
  29. In Spring it is the Dawn (Int)
  30. everybookhasasoul (Int)
  31. Nishita’s Rants and Raves (Int)
  32. Fresh Ink Books (Int)
  33. Teach with Picture Books (USA)
  34. How to Teach a Novel (USA)
  35. The Blue Bookcase (Int)
  36. Gaskella (Int)
  37. Reflections from the Hinterland (USA)
  38. chasing bawa (Int)
  39. 51stories (Int)
  40. No Page Left Behind (USA)
  1. Silver’s Reviews (USA)
  2. Nose in a book (Int)
  3. Lit in the Last Frontier (Int)
  4. The Book Club Blog (Int)
  5. Under My Apple Tree (Int)
  6. Caribousmom (USA)
  7. breienineking (Netherlands)
  8. Let’s Go on a Picnic! (Int)
  9. Rikki’s Teleidoscope (Int)
  10. De Boekblogger (Netherlands)
  11. Knitting and Sundries (Int)
  12. Elle Lit (USA)
  13. Indie Reader Houston (Int)
  14. The Book Stop (Int)
  15. Eliza Does Very Little (Int)
  16. Joy’s Book Blog (Int)
  17. Lit Endeavors (USA)
  18. Roof Beam Reader (Int)
  19. The House of the Seven Tails (Int)
  20. Tony’s Reading List (Int)
  21. Sabrina @ Thinking About Loud! (Int)
  22. Rebecca Reads (Int)
  23. Kinna Reads (Int)
  24. In One Eye, Out the Other (USA)
  25. Books in the City (Int)
  26. Lucybird’s Book Blog (Europe)
  27. Book Clutter (USA)
  28. Exurbanis (Int)
  29. Lu’s Raves and Rants (USA & Canada)
  30. Sam Still Reading (Int)
  31. Dolce Bellezza (Int)
  32. Lena Sledge’s Blog…Books, Reviews and Interviews (Int)
  33. a Thousand Books with Quotes (Int)

116 thoughts on “The Literary Blog-Hop – and Giveaway

  1. I’d like to be entered for Adverbs.

    hawthornescarlet at gmail dot com

    I just realized yesterday that I have two copies of Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities.

  2. Thank you so much for the chance. I’d like to enter for Crome Yellow please, I’ve heard such good things about it.

    I do tend to have duplicate copies of certain favourite books; you are not alone. Cannot resist sometimes. :D

  3. Duplicate copies! You and me both, Gaskella! I have 4 to choose from on my blog hop giveaway …..now to choose from yours.

    I’d love to read Ghost Light.

  4. Hi, thanks for the giveaway! I’d like to win Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor. I have been known to call home to check my bookshelves when I can’t remember if I have a book or not…
    Cheers
    Sam

  5. I’d love to win Chrome Yellow. I have not read that classic yet. I haven’t bought the same book (yet), but I have received multicopies of the same book as a gift at Christmas (yes, the same Christmas) from my mother. She buys lots of things twice because she either forgets where she hid them or that she’s already wrapped them. I see me doing the same in my future, yikes!

  6. Classics. I buy numerous copies of classics ALL the time and never know it. Thankfully I’m a literature major, and my professors love it when I come in with books just for them and let them have it!

    I’d love Ghost Light please, thank you!

    kimie142002 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  7. Hi Gaskella

    I have to admit to buying duplicate copies fairly often. Just recently one of my book club members chose our next read and I thought at the time “… that sounds like a great book.” I dutifully went off and bought it only to find a little while later that I already had a copy – no wonder I liked the sound of it! At least one other member hadn’t bought it yet so I was at least able to give my second copy to her :-)

    ps I would like to go into the draw for Ghost Light. Thanks.

  8. Thank you for the giveaway and for being prepared to ship worldwide.

    Much appreciated.

    I almost always enjoy Irish themed novels and this is a new book to me so I would select Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor if I get lucky.

    Thanks

    Carol T

  9. I’d love to be entered for Ghost Light.

    I have surprisingly little double-copies, but I don’t think I own as many books as you do. So I think in your case double copies aren’t weird at all.

  10. Crome Yellow please- LOVE Huxley! I have definitely bought 2 copies of certain books- The Secret History and Brideshead Revisited, to name but two!

  11. Please put my name down for Adverbs!

    I tend to buy double copies of books that are on my TBR which I’ve been meaning to read but haven’t managed to yet. So I guess I’m still ‘hunting’ for them even though I’ve actually bought them!

  12. Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor sounds interesting, but Adverbs by Daniel Handler and your quirky comment has me conflicted.

    I don’t think I have ever doubled up in my purchases. Perhaps I should check the bookcase though.

    marypres(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  13. Thanks for the giveaway and for making it worldwide. I’d love to win either Ghost Light or Crome Yellow. Thanks,

  14. Ghost Light please. I’ve recently read Star of the Sea and loved it.

    *fingers crossed!*

    thesleeplessreader(at)gmail.com

  15. I’d love to be entered for Adverbs- I’ve always wanted to read this author.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    onehotstove AT gmail DOT com

  16. Thank you for a wonderful giveaway! I love to win the first Aldous Huxley book.

    My mother has been sick and I never got around to signing up to participate in the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop. But I’ve started a monthly giveaway on my blog and I’ve got a June Giveaway going on this month at my blog, and I’d love to invite you to stop by and throw your name in the hat for Anna and the French Kiss! It’s a US giveaway only this month, but next month, I’ll be offering an international giveaway for a $25 Amazon card!

    If you follow me, let me know. I always follow back!

  17. Could you enter me for ‘Crome Yellow’ please? And never fear – I’ve accidentally bought multiple copies of things over and over! The problem is, I see a title that looks good (and familiar) and buy it, without realising that the REASON it looks good (and familiar) is that I’ve been walking past it on my shelves for the last year… :)

  18. Hi,I’m loving the ides of Adverbs by Daniel Handler, so please put me down for that one & pop; over to mine for some poetry.

  19. Ghost Light sounds wonderful!

    I’m on the blog hop tour as well. Hope you have a chance to stop by, and will enter my giveaway.

  20. Three of the four books in my giveaways are ones that I bought twice without realizing it.

    I’d really like to read all three, but the one at the top of my list is probably Adverbs.

  21. Thanks for the great giveaway! I’m a big Huxley fan and would love to win Crome Yellow!

    susanna DOT pyatt AT student DOT rcsnc DOT org

  22. I would love a copy of Crome Yellow. And I have bought multiple copies of books before without realizing it.

    alewis1100 at hotmail dot com

  23. I would love to win Adverbs. My son is reading all of the Lemony Snicket books and loving them. I read the first one and it was pretty fun, but I think I’d prefer one geared towards adults.

    Thanks for the chance to win!

  24. I’d like to be entered for GHOST LIGHT. Thanks so much for offering the giveaway and I totally understand about having more than one copy and not even remembering! LOL

  25. Count me in on “Adverbs” aaand believe it or not, today I amanged to bring home a book fromt the flea market that I already had. Granted, one was the original English version and now I have the German translation too … oh well!

    danaan at gmx dot at

  26. Great blog. I would love to read Adverbs. And I actually purchased Kristen Lavransdatter twice, believing I hadn’t done it the first time! cuc15 at psu dot edu

  27. I’d choose the Aldous Huxley one: Chrome Yellow.

    I’m following you on by RSS, and my email address is darlenesbooknook at gmail dot com.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  28. Hi Annabel – I’d love to be in the draw for the Huxley; I want to try him, and that sounds much more up my street than Brave New World.

  29. I’d love to be in the running for Adverbs. :)

    I’ve bought the same book multiple times, and I’ve even re-bought books that I’ve sold!

  30. I’ve bought the same book a few times, so, you are definitely not alone :) I’d love to try Adverbs.
    Thank you.

  31. I have MANY duplicate books! You are NOT alone!!

    I’d love Ghost Light or Adverbs!

    Thank you!
    Sonya

  32. I’d love to win Crome Yellow — thanks for the giveaway!

    I’ve totally bought books that I already owned without realizing it… the one I can think of off the top of my head was Madame Bovary. I think I ended up with 3 copies, and I still haven’t read it yet. ha ha.

    Jessica M.
    jmartinez0415 [at] gmail [dot] com

  33. I would love the chance to win Adverbs.
    No you are absolutely not alone, I’ve bought so many duplicates that I’m to the point where I am afraid to purchase books that aren’t new releases because I can no longer remember which books I own. :-/

    waitmantwillie at hotmail dot com

  34. I like to get Adverbs..
    I bought duplicate versions of the Sookie Stackhouse series because they were the TV tie in.
    Thanks for the giveaway.
    scarlet_kira(at)live(dot) com

  35. I would like to win Adverbs by Daniel Handler. You are not alone! The best case I can give you is with 3 Cups of Tea. I believe my family has not 2, but 4 copies of that book circulating around. I bought a copy, my brother also bought a copy, and 2 of my aunts each bought a copy. It happens!
    Thanks for the great giveaway!
    Sana Saboowala
    supergirlsana@hotmail.com

  36. I’d love Ghost Light as my first choice, but Crome Yellow as second… (Being a little cheeky there!)
    Thanks for giving us the opportunity!

  37. Thank you for the chance to win your giveaway. I would love to win Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor
    You are diffinitely not alone in buying the same book twice. I’ve done it a couple of times. All of us have read so many books over the years that its so easy to pick up one we have already read. Love Love books

  38. I would like to be entered for Adverbs. Thank you.

    You are not alone. I find that I have duplicate copies of books that I like.

  39. I read Brave New World by Aldous Huxley, and I’ve been wanting to read more of his works. Crome Yellow would be perfect for me!

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  40. Hm…I think i’d like Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor. Thanks for the giveaway :)
    chloecarpi @ yahoo . com

  41. Hello. I’d love to win Ghost Light, without a doubt. My email is cerievans1 at gmail dot com. Many thanks. Ceri

  42. I can’t think of one of the top of my head but I’m sure I’ve gotten a second copy it’s easy to do! See a good deal or remember you want to read it and forget you bought it or got it already!!
    I’d love any of these books! my first choice would be Ghost Light by Joseph O’connor!
    shannonjean14(at)gmail(dot)com

  43. I’d love to read Adverbs!

    And I’ve bought books more than once. For me, it’s usually a matter of either forgetting that I let someone borrow a book I owned or clutter. A few weeks ago, I wanted to re-read Sloppy Firsts, but couldn’t find my copy – so I bought a new one (and of course, i then found my copy)

  44. I would like to be entered for Crome Yellow by Aldous Huxley.
    mamabunny13 at gmail dot com

  45. Adverbs is my choice. Yes, I’ve double up on books before too. Most recently a title by M.C. Beaton. She has so many Agatha Raisin books in her series…

  46. I also got few books with duplicate copies. Sometimes I got three copies of the same title. Usually I acquired them when someone gave it to me as a gift after I bought my own copy. I just gave the one I bought to others who are interested with it. Among the three books I would select The Adverbs by Daniel Handler.
    Thanks,
    blackplum3(at)gmail(dot)com

  47. Crome Yellow is on my reading list and Adverbs sounds spiffy. Either of those for me, please.
    Thanks for the giveaway :)

    emi3mle at yahoo dot com dot au

  48. I’d like Adverbs by Daniel Handler. Thanks for the giveaway!

    jessicamariesutton(at)msn(dot)com

  49. It wont surprise you to know that I have numerous multiple copies including three of Trollope’s The Warden (which I still haven’t read!), two copies of Willa Cather’s O Pioneers and two copies of Breakfast at Tiffany’s, although I have read that!

  50. I would love to win Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor. Great giveaway.

    For some reason I have 3 copies of To Kill A Mockingbird but its a great book so I don’t really care!

  51. I’d like to win Ghost Light by Joseph O’Connor, please! :)

    ilepachequin(at)hotmail(dot)com

  52. Ha, you’re definitely not alone with the accidentally buying/acquiring multiple copies thing – that’s where the books I’m giving away come from too!

    I would love to win Adverbs, it sounds brilliant. In fact if I don’t win I will have to immediately add it to my wishlist!

    Thanks.

  53. I would love to be entered for Ghost Light, please!

    Because I homeschool my children using a literature and non-fiction whole book based curriculum, I can NEVER keep track of all of our books! I will be so proud of myself, thinking that I have found such a great deal on a good book…only to discover that it is not such a great deal if it is your third copy!

    Care Burpee

    careofkiddos {at} msn {dot} com

  54. Thank you for this possibility, in case i won i would be delighted to get “Ghost Light” :)

    At times I happened to have 2 copies of the same book, because of a present given to me by someone that would know my tastes well :)

    tirabaralla{at}yahoo{dot}com

  55. I’d love to win Adverbs as it sounds like such a fun book.

    I’m sure I have ended up with 2 copies of a book but am not recalling any specifics right now (conveniently in denial). Although I have been known to buy a second copy on purpose on occasion if it’s a new edition, or a beautiful, shiny new cover.

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    inspringthedawn at gmail dot com

  56. Thanks for your generosity, and for participating in this blog hop! I’d love to win “Adverbs” by Daniel Handler – since I love funny, quirky books. I have been fortunate enough to land with two copies of the same book, for example, I landed with two ARC’s of “Wither” by Lauren DeStefano, and I ended up giving one away on my blog. When the book actually debuted, I proceeded to do another giveaway for the second ARC. Please, do not feel bad about landing with the same books, because you’re really displaying the magnanimity of your heart by sharing whatever excess you landed with, which I find incredibly generous :) Thank you.

    ~Hira~
    GFC Follower: ~Enamored Soul~
    Email: Enamoredsoul(at)gmail(dot)com
    Twitter: @inluvwithbookz

  57. Thanks for the giveaway! I’d love to win Adverbs!
    sarahthehobbit at gmail dot com

  58. I think Adverbs sounds like a great read! I actually bought the book “Life of Pi” twice, lucky my brother had not read it so I gave one of my copies to him.

    aprilk01(at)yahoo(dot)come

  59. Oh! Your review of Adverbs is really tempting; sounds like I would love it! Can I be entered for this book, please.
    Don’t worry, I think it happens to many book lovers to buy the same book twice!

  60. Thanks for the giveaway:)
    I’d like to read Adverbs by Daniel Handler

    sarahDOTsetarATgmailDOTcom

  61. Great giveaway. I’d love to read Ghost Light.

    veronicasbooks at gmail dot com

    And if it makes you feel any better, while it’s not the same as accidentally buying the same book twice, I own nine different copies of Treasure Island since it’s my favorite book. So two is not so bad!

  62. Thanks for the giveaway!
    I’d love the one by Aldous Huxley.
    k_anon[at]hotmail[dot]co[dot]uk

Comments are closed.