My Books of the Year

Now I’ve read 100 books and it is nearly Christmas, I thought I’d look back on my year of reading and pick out my favourites from a very varied bunch.  To celebrate that depth, I’ve chosen a bunch of categories to separate them into,  so without further ado, here are my top eleven (couldn’t manage just ten), and the links will take you to my post about them …

There are a few more bubbling under, Stone in a Landslide by Maria Barbal in translated, Donovan’s Brain by Curt Siodmak in SF, White Ravens by Owen Shears in Myths, and Direct Red by Gabriel Weston in Non-fic are the runners-up.

* * * * *

But which of the above is my Book of the Year? Well it’s the one I’ve registered for as a giver on World Book Night and I’m crossing my fingers that I get picked as I’d love to get people to read this book … It’s …

The Spy Who Came in from the Cold by John Le Carré

12 thoughts on “My Books of the Year

  1. I’m dying to read Yellow Blue Tibia and The Concert Ticket (I gave this to a pianist friend of mine). I like the way you’ve divided your ‘best of’ list according to category:) And good luck with getting picked for World Book Night!

  2. They are both brilliant books Sakura. Did you notice how I separated SF and dystopias so I could squeeze two books in! Are you going to apply to World Book Night?

  3. OK. I’m going to ensure I read The Spy who came in from the Cold over Christmas. I also really want to read The Death of Grass (I bought a copy last month) and Yellow Blue Tibia. Great list :-) Have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. I like how you split this list. The categories are diverse and yet it seems like you were able to get your favorites in – yes, especially separating sci-fi versus dystopia! I actually have The Death of Grass and want to read it, and this is the first I’ve seen anyone mention (let alone recommend) it. Seems like you had a good reading year (runner-ups, a top-11 list…)!

    • There has been a quiet rippling in the blogosphere about the Death of Grass this/last year due to it being re-released in the Penguin modern classics series – I heard it from John at Asylum I think … I hope you enjoy it when you get around to it!

  5. Great list, was especially pleased to see Peyton Place on the list I have to say. I am going to have to dig out my copy of The Spy Who Came in from the Cold… though isnt it the third in a series or something?

    • Simon – I loved Peyton Place as did our book group. Re Spy – It’s his third book, but the first to feature Smiley – his first spy book proper.

  6. Pingback: The Spy Who Came in From the Cold – John Le Carré – Farm Lane Books Blog

Comments are closed.