Blogging Break

I’m taking a break from blogging for a bit. I will be popping in to visit the blogosphere, but don’t think I can concentrate on reading much at the moment…   

My Mum, Maureen died in the small hours after a tough battle with secondary breast cancer.  She was 79 and died peacefully in her sleep at the Royal Marsden Hospital.   She would have studied classics at Queens University in Belfast but the money didn’t work out, so she moved to London to work where she loved all the arts – opera, ballet, theatre, film, art and books. She also played the piano well and sang in a top London choir, the Philharmonia Chorus, for years.  We shared books all the time too of course, and actually had very similar reading tastes – although she wouldn’t tolerate too much bad language but, like me, did appreciate a good murder mystery. In particular, I’ll miss our bookish and arty conversations so very much.

I shall leave you with a photo of her posing on the beach at Alum Bay on the Isle of Wight in 1953, aged 22. 

26 thoughts on “Blogging Break

  1. Condolences on your loss during this time of grief. Take all the time you need to reflect and mourn. We’ll be here waiting for you, but know you’re in our thoughts in the interim.

  2. I’m sorry to hear of your loss. She sounds special and wonderful. Those of us whose parents nurtured and shared our love for reading and the arts are lucky indeed. Take care, best wishes.

  3. What a lovely picture — I’m very sorry for your loss. My own mom and I have also shared a love of reading for many years and I can only imagine how difficult it must be for you.

  4. I’m so sorry to hear your news ((HUGS)) That is a beautiul photo. Take all the time you need to remember how special she was and when you are ready we will be here. My thoughts are with you.

  5. so very sorry to hear this, Annabel. Your Mum looks radiant in that picture and what wonderful memories you will have to treasure – that keeps me going when I miss my parents. Did your Mum come from Northern Ireland? All good things originate here. Lots of love to you and all your family. Txx

  6. Dear all, thank you so much for your kind comments, they are a source of great comfort to me.

    (Teresa, yes she was Belfast born, although her mother was from Yorkshire – I really like being part Irish!)

  7. I am so very sorry Annabel and my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
    I have been out of the office for a week so only just saw your sad news but I hope that you are managing to get through everything.
    Take care.
    Liz xx

  8. I’m so sorry, Annabel. What a terrible loss for you and your family. What a beautiful woman your mother was. I’ll be thinking of you – please do look after yourself over these next few weeks.

Comments are closed.