Driven slush!

Wasn’t it Mae West who said ‘I’m as pure as the driven slush‘?

Anyway, after moderately heavy snowfall overnight, by lunchtime driven slush what we have on our roads here. Our side road is still very thick slush, but the main road outside is fine. As the snow was fresh last night and we haven’t had a freeze to make it icy, the local roads haven’t been so bad.
Yet almost all the local schools closed today. The two sites of the Abingdon Foundation that I work for and one of the local secondaries were amongst the few brave enough to open! It takes a lot more than this to close Abingdon School, and its little brother, Abingdon Prep. So I had to take my daughter into work with me as her school was closed.
I know there are many arguments for and against closure due to bad weather, but the roads weren’t that bad round here. Shortly after 8am, once out of our side road I had no problems driving the four miles to work. A large number of staff and many of the boys did make it in too and they continued to drift in for an hour or so.
I do have sympathy with those who live in the villages where the roads can be very dangerous in bad weather, but anyone with a 4×4 should revel in the chance to use it properly, (and there are a lot of them round here!). I think the schools though, particularly those with a local catchment area, are over-cautious. I’m waiting to see what’ll happen tomorrow…
Meanwhile rant over. I’ll leave you with a photo of my daughter’s snow angel above in the garden.
2 thoughts on “Driven slush!

  1. I have to say, I wimped out of leaving the village today. Having seen my husband slip sliding off down the road, I decided we were staying put. It’s hairy in the boonies you know!

  2. I must admit, that rant over, I was half looking forward to a day off today – but both mine and daughter’s schools are open today for those that can get there safely – with which I totally agree. As I’m just up the road from one, and on decent roads to the other – it’s a schoolday for us then…

Comments are closed.