Tags

,

Following hard on the heels of my Books of the Year – it’s time for bookstats.  Many of you may know that I keep a spreadsheet of everything I read so I can analyse my reading at the end of each year.  Don’t groan – it’s not that bad!

I had a really good year statswise, managing to finish over 100 books for the first time in a couple of years. The pagecount is holding up too (although see how many chunky books I must have read in 2011!). NB: The stats are based on 101 books read as at 24.12.13 – I’ve managed to read five more books since then to make 106 books read in total. Book Stats Books Read & Pagecount

Each year I say I plan to read more books from before I was born and the 20th Century in general.  I’ve failed yet again!  Last year 44% of books read were from 2011-12, this year 2012-13 account for even more at 55%. I am such a sucker for new books, (although this year I read more review copies which probably accounts for the increase).
Book Stats 2013 Date of Pub

Then I like to look at author nationality, and I have managed to read a little more widely from around the world, but only managed to increase the total in translation by 3 from 10 last year to 13. Less by American authors too, and more by UK ones.Book Stats 2013 Author Nationality

This year I’ve added a genre chart. The mix is much the same though – a smattering of SF, historical, crime/thrillers, children’s/YA, a few more modern classics, but the largest part is what I call contemporary fiction. Non-fiction remained at the same level around the 10% mark.Book Stats 2013 GenreOne last stat for you before I make my Reading Resolutions – that of male/female author ratio.  Last year I almost reached parity for the first time ever, reading as many books by women authors as by men. This year it returned to 70/30, despite having read my first books by Barbara Pym, Margaret Forster and Penelope Mortimer for instance. I never knowingly consider an author’s gender when I’m choosing what to read, within the constraints of any review copies, I largely go by whim (which is a big  reason that I’m really crap at challenges apart from the TBR dare).

READING RESOLUTIONS FOR 2014…

Triple Dog Dare

  • Again – to read more from my TBR. Initially by participating in The TBR Triple Dog Dare as hosted by James at Ready when you are, C.B. until the end of March. Only exceptions are book club books, plus one I have pre-ordered for January.
  • To read as much as I can, from as wide a choice of books as I can.
  • To only read books I want to read - when I want to read them – that means being tougher on accepting review copies, and that unsolicited books will not get read at all unless they fit my mood.

That’s it really!

Do you make reading resolutions?  

How has your reading year been in stats?

BRING ON THE NEW YEAR OF READING!

