I did this meme last year too, a bit of fun for pre-Christmas. It originated at The Indextrious Reader, and you can see Jane at Fleur Fisher in her World’s post here.

The “rules” are simple: Take the first line of each month’s first post over the past year and see what it tells you about your blogging year. Links back to the original posts. Here goes:

January: ‘Shakespeare’s question from The Two Gentlemen of Verona is an apposite one to ask of Dawn French’s new novel, for the title character never says a word, being in a coma after a fall from a third floor balcony.’ (from my review of Oh Dear Silvia

February: ‘Written ten years after his 1959 novel Mrs Bridge, Connell’s companion piece Mr Bridge tells the story of the Bridge family through the same time period from the 1930s into WWII, but from the husband’s point of view.’ (from my review of Mr Bridge

March: ‘I have shelves full of proper non-fiction books all awaiting my attention. Books historical, geographical, biographical, scientific, and so on – you get the picture.’ from my post on Non-Fiction and Me

April: ‘Well today is the start of the second quarter of 2013 and the official end of this year’s TBR Double Dog Dare hosted by James at Ready When You Are, C.B.

May: ‘Distractions! I had hoped to read or re-read more Banks books by now.’ (from my re-read of Iain Banks debut novel The Wasp Factory

June: ‘Playing with my books this morning, I spotted my pile of Ladybird books from my childhood.’ from my post on The Joy of Ladybird Books

July: ‘In the UK, it’s Independent Bookseller’s Week. Indie bookshops all over the country are running special events and promotions.’

August: ‘It’s lovely when you get a nice little surprise (or ‘pleasing’ as Lynne at DGR would call them). I’ve had a couple of good bookish ones this morning.’ on buying a second-hand book and discovering it to be signed by the author. (here).

September: ‘I was sad to hear of the death of Elmore Leonard a week and a half ago.’ Celebrating Elmore Leonard and reviewing Glitz.

October: ‘Occasionally we like to have a different kind of reading experience in our Book Group, and for this month’s read, we chose a play.’ from my Book Group Report on reading The Weir by Conor McPherson

November: ‘It’s a rare thing for me to read a graphic novel – in fact the only one I’ve read since starting this blog was The Crow by James O’Barr.’ from my review of graphic novel Dark Satanic Mills.

December: ‘This is the second novel in Aaronovitch’s ‘Rivers of London’ series of humorous police procedurals involving magical crimes in contemporary London.’ from my review of Moon over Soho.

I enjoyed that, and actually think the results are pretty representative of my blog this year. Still obsessing about the TBR; missing Iain Banks and Elmore Leonard; book group; and a bit of most of the types of books I usually read.

Because our kittens didn’t manage to be the first posts in any of the months since we got them, I shall leave you with a couple of Christmas kitty photos. Both are of Ginny, as Harry has been too busy sleeping somewhere else to be photographed…

Good Kitty…Christmas kitty 2Bad Kitty!…Christmas Kitty

