Tags

I posted about my books of the year a couple of weeks ago here. Now it’s time, as I always do, to take a light-hearted look at the stats of what I read…

Life must be getting busier, as each year I seem to be reading fewer books. I say that firmly with my tongue in my cheek, as I know that if I diverted some of the time I spend mucking about on Facebook playing games etc. into reading, and also not watching afternoon telly on days when I get home early, I’d get a lot more reading done!

So – having consulted my master spreadsheet, up to the time of writing:

  • 2012 Books NationalityI’ve finished 90 books this year, vs 93 in 2011, 106 in 2010 and 114 in 2009.
  • The page count is still holding up well at just under 26k, vs 29k in 2011, 26k in 2010 and 32k in 2009.
  • I read the same number of books in translation this year – 10.  Again, I’d like to read more in 2013.
  • Due to my hosting Beryl Bainbridge Reading Week, this was the first year in which I’ve read 6 books by the same author. I also read 4 Adrian Mole books by Sue Townsend, and 3 teen books by Sophie McKenzie to impress my daughter and her friends.
  • 2012 Books DateAnother stat I love to look at is when books I read were published.  I didn’t manage to increase my reading of ones published pre-1960 (my d.o.b.) this year, and am always shocked to find how many shiny new books I manage to squeeze in  - a full 44% percent published in 2012, plus 2 yet to hit the shelves.
  • In genre fiction, this must be the first year that I haven’t read any SF proper. I have read more historical fiction though particularly set around WWI & II – there’s a lot of it about!
  • One area I’ve improved upon is to read more non-fiction having read 6 books of memoir/biography and 5 others.
  • Lastly, I’ve redressed the balance between male and female authors this year. Last year my list was 70% by men. This year it’s almost at parity, with 46:44 male:female writers.

My aims for 20132013

  1. Read more!
      1. Read more from my TBR – I’m taking part in the TBR Double Dog Dare, which’ll take me up to the end of March without reading new acquisitions.
      2. Read more old books – particularly those published pre-1960.
      3. Read more in translation.
      4. Read some SF. Mustn’t forget about my first book love.
      5. I’d love to host another author reading week.  I have an idea, possibly for May – more soon!

So, how did your reading year shape up?

