Tags

, ,

I am deliberately not making any Reading Resolutions this year other than to tackle my TBR in all ways – through reading and culling. Participating in the TBR Double Dare as already discussed here should get me well on the way.

in 2011, I had aimed to join in with DGR’s ‘Team Troika’ readalong of War & Peace, but never got started. Also, despite good intentions, I got derailed halfway through the Dark Tower readalong hosted at Shelf Love (a series I definitely will finish though … sometime).

So not a good record – yet I find myself itching to follow and readlong closely with all these irrestistible things:

  • January is Australian Literature Month over at Reading Matters. I’m planning to read Oscar and Lucindaby Peter Carey, but to do it readalong style with Lizzy if we can manage it.
  • This year’s DGR classic readalong is Middlemarch
    by George Eliot. Again, if I can just get started ….
  • Later in January, from the 23rd, Stu at Winston’s Dad is hosting a Henry Green Week. An author I’d never heard of, but upon researching, one I’d be keen to read. I’ve acquired Loving, Living, Party Going, which has three of his short novels together in one volume, so I’ll have plenty of choice.
  • Although I don’t intend to formally follow Simon’s plans at Stuck in a Book to read one book from each year of the 20th century, it is a fascinating premise, and I plan to chart my progress out of pure listy-lovingness.  I am trying to read more books from the years before I was born, so following Simon’s progress in this challenge should help with that aim.
  • Then there’s my monthly face to face Book Group which has its own tab at the top of the page. Our January read will be Ridersby Jilly Cooper – I’ve never read one of her books, so I’m looking forward to this.

Phew!  That’s enough for starters.  Let’s see how I get on.  What about you?

