Tags

I have a love-hate relationship with my TBR piles.

I love having my own personal library to choose from.  But for every volume I pick off my own shelves, I read a shiny newly published title, and maybe add another onto the shelf.

That’s why I’ve signed up for the TBR Double Dare hosted by C B James.

I took part in the first one this year – and lasted the full three months.  I read only from my TBR, and acquired fewer books too, so it was a success, although I didn’t read as many books as I’d have liked – I got derailed by life in the first part of the year. After the TBR dare finished though, I managed to read over 30 books published in 2011 during the rest of the year!

Although I couldn’t/wouldn’t impose a book buying ban on myself, I do intend to try to acquire less this year and to continue to read more from my TBR after the end of March.  I’ll probably be moving and will need to reduce the TBR as much as I can. I keep a lot less books once I’ve read them these days.

It’s not too late to sign up.  I’m in good company – blog-friends Teresa of Shelf Love and Lizzy of Lizzy’s Literary Life are doing the TBR Double Dare too.

… and all this makes me realise – I don’t hate my TBR – I love it!

