Tags

,

Simon T over at Stuck in a Book has created a lovely new meme here and I had to join in this simple one. Do feel free to have a go yourself with this, and do link back to Simon.

1) The book I’m currently reading:

I’ve talked about this one already (see a few posts back), but it’s The Sisters Brothers by Patrick DeWitt. I literally started it this morning, but I’m only a couple of pages in…

What’s it about?  Well it’s cowboy noir with two killer brothers set during the California Gold Rush. Comparisons with Coen brothers will abound, no doubt and I’m still loving that cover too.

I’ve added De Witt’s first novel Ablutions to my wishlist too.

2) The last book I finished:

That’ll be Salmon Fishing in the Yemen by Paul Torday.

I read this for book group, but I won’t be posting for a while as it’s next month’s book.

It’s a highly original take on epistolary novels and diaries featuring a mild-mannered professor who gets mixed up in a grand project to bring salmon fishing to the Yemen.  I really enjoyed it  and certainly hope to read more of Torday’s books.

3) The next book I want to read:

Is The Quiet Twin by Dan Vyleta.

Set in Vienna, 1939, this is the story of what happens when Professor Speckstein sets out to investigate the brutal murder of his dog;  “the novel pungently recreates the noxious ethos in which [Nazism] flourished, resembling Hitchcock’s Rear Window rescripted by Dostoevsky and Kafka.” –Sunday Times, January, 30th, 2011.

Sounds good doesn’t it!

4) The last book I bought:

Was yesterday, and it is The Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights by John Steinbeck – yes, him!

If you follow this blog, you’ll know I have a penchant for anything Arthurian, but I never knew he wrote this back in 1952, so it was a must buy. This is a new Penguin Deluxe edition from the US which I got with my birthday loot, but there’s also a Penguin Modern Classics edition.

5) The last book I was given:

I only got one book for my birthday yesterday, but it was one I’ve wanted to read for ages since I’ve seen it reviewed by Lizzie and also Kirsty and that’s The Chocolate Wars by Deborah Cadbury (yes, she is related).

Cadbury has also written (by all accounts) a fine book about the Victorian fossil hunters which I’m also dying to read.

* * * * *

If you would like to buy any of them from Amazon UK, click below:

The Sisters Brothers
Salmon Fishing in the Yemen
The Quiet Twin
The Acts of King Arthur and His Noble Knights (Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions)
Chocolate Wars: From Cadbury to Kraft: 200 years of Sweet Success and Bitter Rivalry

