While I clearly state on my ‘Info & Stuff’ page above, and mention from time to time in posts, I haven’t been shouting from the rooftops that when you click through on a book title link (or films etc), you’ll get taken to Amazon where you can order said item (or anything else for that matter) and I’ll get a commission from the sale. I’ve been an Amazon.co.uk affiliate for about eighteen months, and so far, readers’ click-throughs have earned me an immense £12.89 – which I haven’t seen yet, as I have to earn £25 to trigger a payment.

Obviously I’m not in blogging for the money! It is nice to get a few freebies here and there which are very much appreciated. I do get a lot from blogging though – my personal gain is all about talking books and ‘stuff’ with you, and interacting with you, my brilliant blog-friends.

So, I shall try a new format … In the interests of clarity, so that links in my blog text are links to places other than online retail emporia, (unless explicitly flagged up as such), I’m not going to include them in the text. Instead I’ll include the Amazon link(s) at the bottom of a post. While this may seem a more obvious way of promoting my affiliation, it’ll save you getting annoyed, (and doubly so if you’re not in the UK) if you click a link in the text and get taken to Amazon UK when you’d hoped to be taken somewhere else. As WordPress.com doesn’t support external widgets, I can only include the links, not the Amazon buttons, so it’ll look fairly subtle I hope!

Using the two books I’m currently reading as examples – here’s how it will look at the bottom of a post. Please do let me know your thoughts…

*****

Buy these books from Amazon.co.uk …
* Yellow Blue Tibia: A Novel by Adam Roberts
* Hector & the Search for Happiness (Hector’s Journeys) by François Lelord

