Along with all the tinkering I did last week, I had a change of template. This one is much more me!

Changing subject, this isn’t bookish, but I want to share this site with you - ASL’s Lego page. Now I love Lego, but this chap is totally obsessed with it, and particularly loves recreating Escher drawings in 3D in Lego. Scroll down to the bottom to see these projects - they’re wonderful!

*****

I’ve had a great couple of weeks of new acquisitions, so rather than waffling on about nothing, I want to share my incoming books with you.

  • Mrs. Chippy’s Last Expedition: The Remarkable Journal of Shackleton’s Polar-Bound Cat by Caroline Alexander. This is a wonderful blend of fact and fiction – being the story of Mrs Chippy, the carpenter’s cat on board the Endurance with Shackleton. It combines fact from the journals of crew members with the fictional exploits of the aforesaid feline.
  • Angel by Cliff McNish. I loved McNish’s latest book Savannah Grey and Angel has great write-ups too.
  • The Many Deaths of the Firefly Brothers by Thomas Mullen. This is set during the Great Depression at the tail-end of the gangster era. The Firefly brothers are bank-robbers who wake up on the slab dead but alive. Their girls and family believe them dead. The setting is irresistible.
  • Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking) by Patrick Ness. The final volume in the Chaos Walking trilogy. Volumes 1 & 2 of this dystopian series for young adults, The Knife of Never Letting Go and The Ask and the Answer, were amazing books and I am so looking forward to reading this one.
  • Will You be There? by Guillaume Musso. This was a charity shop find, and tells the story of a successful surgeon who gets the chance to go back in time to San Francisco in the 1970s in search of the love of his life who died thirty years ago.
  • The Taste of Sorrow by Jude Morgan. A novelisation of the lives of the Bronte sisters. Although I realise this is a novel, I’m hoping that it will fill in a lot of gaps for me in my total lack of knowledge about these literary greats.
  • The Book of Fires by Jane Borodale. Another charity shop buy, about a girl who runs away to London in 1752 and works for a fireworks maker. As a scientist and fan of pyrotechnics this sounds intriguing.
  • Maus: My Father Bleeds History v. 1: A Survivor’s Tale by Art Spiegelman. This and its sequel is probably the most important graphic novel of all, and spotting it on the charity shop’s shelves, it was definately time to add it to the TBR pile.
  • The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. It is a somewhat terrifying thought to find out that so much medical research relies on an immortal cell-line taken from a black woman who died of cervical cancer back in the 1950s. This is the story of her and her ‘HeLa’ cells as they are known.
